Thunder Storming album Rip It Up Rocks the Speakers

Thunder Storming album Rip It Up Rocks the Speakers

Thunder Storming album Rip It Up Rocks the Speakers

Whatever the weather, whatever your mood, you know when Thunder is in the air pouring from the speaker then you are in for a good time. I dare you to listen to Rip It Up without getting up and dancing around, tapping your feet and letting the Thunder vibe flow through your veins making Rip It Up a rocking good feel good listen. You would expect no less from Danny Bowes and the band.

Following on from the success of Wonderdays, the quintet are delivering rock that has a brightness that belies the fact that they have been producing records for twenty-seven years. Rip It Up is youthful and fun to listen to with a diverse range of tones and approaches to the lyrics that showcase the full vocal range of frontman Danny Bowes.  Thunder is a band with the musicians playing so much more than a platform for Danny vocals. Go to any Thunder gig and the chant of Harry, Harry for the drummer is evidence of Thunders roar.

Opening with No One Gets Out Alive, we are introduced to the expected Thunder sound Garry James sticks pounding like Thors hammer cymbals and skin. The celebration of duelling with guitars of Luke Morley and Ben Matthews. Completing the explosive power id the exquisite bass lines of Chris Childs pull the melody along so we don’t care that they are telling us the No One Gets Out Alive! We are ready to seize the moment with the band and enjoy the album clapping your hands in pure joy.

The title track is like an old friend familiar through radio play. Yes, do as you are told turn the volume up and Rip It Up with your rocking friends Thunder. Tempo changes with curling guitar riff and a blues-fueled rock number that despite its title is fun to listen to. The lyrics though are a salutatory warning of the dangers of party scenes and hedonism.  The girl She Likes Cocaine is a must listen strong lyrics, instrumentation and cymbal work that rings with the purity of a bell in the clear air after a storm.  Now, for the ballad Right From The Start, which is accomplished with lead breaks that are juicy full and weave the emotions of Danny’s singing another track that works as the realisation that this is a band recording at the top of their game. This is crafted rock full of difference and nuances. Every track has its highlights and will always receive a thunderous applause from Thunder fans.

The album is half way through taking shape as the rock is styled and reformed to suit the moment. Heartbreak Hurricane, following on from the cowbell spectacular of Shakedown. A ballad full of emotional pain, never maudlin as the instruments raise the tempo behind the searing vocals from Danny. Then there is Rock. It is good with The Enemy Inside and Tumbling Down. You now that this is a British Band playing the rock they love and understand, loud fast and melodic with an edge from the lyrics.  Closing out with There’s Always A Loser, Harry’s drums lay down the beat simple and powerful in its intent. Once again it as a hauntingly beautiful tone of Danny’s vocals and lyrics centre stage emotional charged. The track builds with guitar hooks and licks that curl and wrap There’s Always A Loser a comfort blanket of Rock. The lead break is searing as the pain is reflected for Danny to sing the lyrics as the album fades. Turn it up and play again. With eleven immense tracks, with every listen you will hear a new lyric, another drum roll and guitar lick.

Rip It Up will never be a boring listen.  Why? This may be Thunder’s eleventh studio album they a have definitely roared out of the studio with Rip It Up. An album for Thunder fans who have followed them over three decades and for those discovering them at today. Thunder’s live performances are always a stormy adrenalin fun filled extravaganza with these new tracks add to the armoury live shows will still Rip It Up as new fans come under Thunder’s rock spell.

Thunder Rip It UpearMUSIC

TEN pawprint half inchdoodle paws out of TEN ….

Track Listing

  1. No One Gets Out Alive
  2. Rip It Up
  3. She Likes Cocaine
  4. Right From the Start
  5. Shakedown
  6. Heartbreak Hurricane
  7. In Another Life
  8. The Chosen One
  9. The Enemy Inside
  10. Tumbling Down
  11. There’s Always A Loser

Available Audio Cd & Deluxe Editions Audio / Vinyl HERE

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.