Mick McConnell Gets Under My Skin With Blues

Mick McConnell Gets Under My Skin With Blues

Mick McConnell Gets  Under My Skin With Blues


Mick McConnell sophomore album Gets Under My Skin, certainly punches a hefty blues punch. The album out of Dewsbury journeyed through Europe and was polished in Nashville.  With Bruce Miller at the helm as producer Under My Skin has ten tracks that combine a winning combo gravel vocals and stinging guitars this is a smokin’ gun of the blues from Mick McConnell.

Mick, says “stick to what I know”; that said there is a flourish and a confidence as the ten tracks take us on a journey that never stays within the constraints of traditional blues. He sets down a deep groove with his six-string and then explores the lyrics adding gloss, brightness and energy as he sings No She Don’t Like Country; we get to know her tastes and she likes Rock n’ Roll!

The guitar is a blues clarion call as Mick takes us Visiting Mr ‘J’; his song that reflects on the legacy of Mr Robert Johnson, he sticks to his approach to the blues not copying or reinterpreting Robert. The middle of the album is rich pickings with Moods On A Rainy Day and Cross The Line.  The album is full of peachy songs that grow and underneath the guitar and instrumentation are lyrics with something to say. Mick is his own person, this is his blues that he wants to share with you as he closes out the album with Spell On Me. This is Blues that shimmers piercing through the genre with a vibe that is warm and inviting. As the album title infers Mick does get Under My Skin and anyone who listens to McConnell Blues.

Under My SkinMick McConnell – Stuff Music Records

SEVENpawprint half inchdoodle paws out of TEN ….

Track Listing

  1. Holdin On
  2. Man With A Smokin Gun
  3. No She Don’t … Like Country
  4. All My Soul
  5. Lock You Out
  6. Visiting Mr “J”
  7. Moods On A Rainy Day
  8. Cross The Line
  9. Under My skin
  10. Spell On Me


Mick McConnell Gets Under My Skin With Blues

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.