Hard Times, Bad Decisions Sings Lisa Mann

Hard Times, Bad Decisions Sings Lisa Mann

Hard Times, Bad Decisions Sings Lisa Mann


Lisa Mann’s album is full of raw, feminine determination. The blues a woman’s way combining Lisa’s vocal power with the gritty groove-driven bass playing. The Album oozes class, reflecting the awards she is gathering around her as we dip into her fourth studio album.


Opening with the title track, the album sets off on a gritty journey when the wrong path is taken reflecting on bad decisions taken and hard times. The tempo changes with sultry sax and harmonisation of Lisa and Andy Stokes vocals on a country fueled Two Halves Of One Broken Heart weaves the melody around your ear.  The album is redolent of R n’ B of the sixties, fifties song book twisted and vital with a contemporary energy. Lisa Mann sings the blues as she explores relationships and the effect that good choices and bad decisions have on our travels through life’s experiences.


Hard Times, Bad Decisions features her band Jason JT Thomas on guitar whose manipulation of the six-strings adds such deep and glorious tonal textures. The Keys of Brian Harris adds a flourish of chords that underpin the lyrics and melodic tone. Finally and definitely not least is the other half of the rhythm section Michael Ballash on drums. Into to the mix is an array of special guests making the album zing with energy. Lisa has a definite panache for mixing four covers that fit perfectly with the eight originals.


We have some fun with a hip swinging ditty Doghouse this is a tune that is light and has a feeling of fun making you smile and pick up your dancing shoes.  The warm clarion vocals as Lisa declares I Don’t Hurt Anymore the keys swell around her voice. Another change of tone and direction that you come to expect on an album exploring life. My Father’s House curls with blue gospel driven energy springing from the guitar of Kirk Fletcher featuring on the track. With her vocals demanding us to come in to My Father’s House this is rousing gospel that fills the room with music that warms the soul. Closing the album with a darker number as guest drummer Vinny Appice and the resonator guitarist Ben Rice on Judge A Man Forever. This is a track that leaves you wanting to hear more of Lisa Mann real soon. As we learn about judging forever by the worse thing anyone has ever done. The album throughout explores the difference about bad decisions where we have a choice what path action we take and Hard Times that happens often for no fault of our own.  Lisa Mann has a message to share within her lyrics and a melody to had the shades of light and dark. Blues to make you reflect, laugh and cry but above all to enjoy for its power, melodic shaping and the integrity of the songs. .


Hard Times, Bad Decisions Sings Lisa Mann, having listened to the album adding the album to your collection has to be a good decision.

Bluesdoodles gives this CD NINE pawprint half inchdoodle paws out of TEN ….

Track Listing 

  1. Hard Times, Bad Decisions
  2. Two Halves Of one Broken Heart
  3. Certain Kinda Man
  4. I Go Zoom
  5. Doghouse
  6. I Don’t Hurt Anymore
  7. Ain’t Nunna Yo Bizness
  8. My Father’s House
  9. You Need A Woman
  10. Play It All The Way
  11. I Love You All The Time
  12. Judge A Man Forever

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.