Visit Dream Country With Sarah Darling New Album

Visit Dream Country With Sarah Darling New Album

Visit Dream Country With Sarah Darling New Album


Beautiful album cover as Sarah says thank you for being the stars in my sky. As the cover opens revealing golden stars sparkling with the mysteries of the moon against an indigo background.  Allowing the listener before hearing a note played capturing the ethereal, dreamy feel of the music Sarah Darling has captured on the ten tracks from Wandering Star around Halley’s Comet and onto the closer Stargazer.  To categorise the album in Country is just simplistic, a form of genre blindness. Sarah is a singer full of poise and sophistication who has weaved into the foundation, jazz, folk and a purity of melody ensuring the lyrics shine with startling force reflecting a starry night.   The exploration of Dream Country begins with Wandering Star. Like a shooting star capturing the emotional journey of following one’s heart as one takes the first step pinto an unknown future.  English folk assails the ear with Anchor, co-written by Sam Palladino who grew up in Cornwall, which captures the wildness of the Cornish coast and safe anchorage of harbour and home. Nashville colliding with Cornwall is a partnership that has perfect harmony.

The tempo picks up and darkens, all is not sweet as Sarah sings Tell The Devil. With country rocking out with a gentle but persistent percussive beat, we have a wildness and the feeling of a journey going out of control.  The Smiths Cover, Please, Please, Please Let Me Get What I Want, acoustic and with a gentle vocal never as good as the original in my opinion, Morrissey’s gruffer vocals gave the original an edge missing on this outing.

We have violins, sharp and with a gypsy melancholy opening to Montmartre, Sarah’s journey takes us to a city she loves Paris. Gently dreamlike and romantic as we float around the streets. We lose the violins and a gentler orchestration takes over. So much more could have been done with the violins showing a darker underbelly of the city.

The debut UK Single You Take Me All The Way has a gentle jazz cocktail hour vibe. With a breathy vocal that lingers on with the vocals leaving you wanting more. As we meet Stargazer the last track, ethereal her vocals silky and otherworldly, the album fades away with a gentle wave rather than a memorable shout.  An album that under 40 minutes is a quick jaunt leaving us wanting to hear more and listen to greater exploration of the harmonies that define Sarah Darling. Visit Dream Country With Sarah Darling New Album

Sarah Darling – Country Dream – Be Darling Records

EIGHTpawprint half inchdoodle paws out of TEN ….

Track Listing

  1. Wandering Star
  2. Where Cowboys Ride
  3. Anchor
  4. Tell The Devil
  5. Please, Please, Please Let Me Get What I Want
  6. Starry Eyes
  7. Montmartre
  8. Halley’s Comet
  9. You Take Me All The Way
  10. Stargazer

Visit Dream Country With Sarah Darling New Album

Newsletter Updates

Enter your email address below to subscribe to our newsletter

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.