Troy Redfern Band ~ Backdoor Hoodoo

819nxt6bzsL._SY355_This is an album the hits the speakers loud and running fast this is no chugging freight train of a sound it is a “Speedy Locomotive” as the words say on the opening track It Stacks; this is a blues song with a train theme that rocks with a driving full blown energy. That said the lyrics are not lost in the maelstrom of kicking guitar and can this momentum run throughout Backdoor Hoodoo or will the quality displayed in the first four minutes run out of steam? The album is a celebration of raw slide guitar. Mean and no backdoor gentleness this is playing for the twenty-first century as the guitar slides over the blues spectrum and the vocals sear with emotion bottled and spat out. This is a band that wants to set their mark as being contemporary; Troy’s vocal cadences growl with a distinctive range that melds with guitar, the rhythm section with Alex Bridge drumming and bassist Stuart McDonald gel together creating a whole sound that you want to listen to. Salvation the third track allows you to take a breather the paces slows but this is nothing pedestrian as you hear the tonal power of his voice and you certainly do not want saving from the music that is rocking good blues as What Goes Around demonstrates. The album is not dominated by slide the guitar howls as the six-strings reverberate the emotion that Troy pours in to the music on War Cry, it just connects to your music radar. As so often it seems that one of my favourite tracks on the album is the shortest, this is a cut down Lamb Of Zion Troy, and guitar full of flair and style and no place to hide. Contrasting with the title track that preceded it add the tonal texture and change to an album that needs to make a listener take notice. We are back flying down his trade mark helter-skelter break-neck speed playing with Back Home; that just doesn’t have the verve of other tracks perhaps it is just the train gathering up its energy. And the last four tracks are spot on as the album drives to the finale This Raging Heart that has twisted the blues with rock and created an industrial sound that will shock many and delight those who want music with attitude and something to say.

Bluesdoodles gives this CD EIGHT doodle paws out of TEN ….

Troy Redfern Band ~ Backdoor Hoodoo – Blues Boulevard Records.

Track Listing

1. It Stacks Fast
2. The Other Side
3. Salvation
4. Wildfire
5. What Goes Around
6. War Cry
7. Backdoor Hoodoo
8. Lamb of Zion
9. Back Home
10. Running With Ghosts
11. Survive
12. Cold Day In Hell
13. This Raging Heart

Newsletter Updates

Enter your email address below to subscribe to our newsletter


  1. There’s some great music contained here, but are you serious about his vocals. I find them grating and I wish he had put the same effort into the vocals, that has been put into the rest of the album (which would probably mean getting a proper vocalist). For me, sadly the vocals make this album almost unlistenable…

    • It is what we hear differently that makes music so exciting thanks for you comments and read Bluesdoodles – please follow also on twitter @Bluesdoodles and Facebook – Bluesdoodles… the next review we may even agree 🙂

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.