The Reverend Shawn Amos Loves You – cookie loving album

The Reverend Shawn Amos Loves You - cookie loving album

The Reverend Shawn Amos Loves You – cookie loving album




The Reverend Shawn Amos Loves You – debut cookie loving album, just like a jar of cookies full of musical temptation crammed with the sweetest delights. The guest appearance from Blind Boys of Alabama and Mindi Abair adds further layers of tasty musical treats. The album is crammed with gospel led blues of the secular kind, with the clever harp playing, songwriting and blues singing warm as honey on a sunny day from the talented Shawn Amos.
The album, with two covers and ten originals is full of musical diversity that keeps you engaged and listening as the blues twists and turns around the genre. Opening with Days Of Depression, the blues hit you as the clapping starts the Blind Boys of Alabama adding a musical equivalent of the cherry on top of the cake on this the opening track the love is shared.
Fancy some R n’B Shawn Amos is happy to please with Will You be Mine! With Shawn seeking redemption through the grinding vocals underpinned by a rhythm section that drives the tempo and mood. Boogie is steeped in sex appeal as Shawn’s vocals crone and growl over the instrumentation you just want to get onto the dance floor and gyrate those hips in time with the mesmerising music and then Miss Anderson joins in ‘you got to boogie’ this is a track that ignites.
The duet of Bright Lights, Big City is special as Shawn and Mindi are full of vocals they are a seductive combination with his searing harp and her sassy saxophone it is a mix made in blues heaven. The guitar playing intro of You’re Gonna Miss Me (When I Get Home) is sharp and sassy and the vocals are smoking, moodily augmenting the rhythmic drive of the guitar and the stomping beat.
This is an album that digs deep into the structure of the blues with the combination of up front vocals dripping with emotion and lyrics that tell a story of different roads traveled, hurts and experiences. These are amplified by the skillful and exciting arrangements from the band, of Chris “Doctor” Roberts (guitars), Brady Blade (drums, percussion), Chris Thomas (bass), Anthony Marinelli, Hassell Teekell (keyboards), Mindi Abair (saxophones,) Lewis Smith (trumpet), Forever Jones (backing vocals) and Nick Lane (horn arrangements). This is seen throughout the album allowing Amos the freedom to explore the lyrics and add his glorious harp playing.
This is an album of blues treasure of now and the future, ending with The Last Day I’m Loving You, you are left wanting more. The Reverend Shawn Amos Loves You – cookie loving album, combines all the raw ingredients of the blues creating modern blues that are relevant, listenable and you always want one more song…

Bluesdoodles gives this CD EIGHT pawprint half inchdoodle paws out of TEN ….

Track Listing

1. Days Of Depression With Blind Boys of Alabama
2. Brand New Man
3. Boogie with Miss Anderson
4. Brothers Keeper
5. You’re Gonna Miss Me (When I Get Home)
6. Joliet Bound
7. Will You Be Mine
8. The Outlaw
9. Bright Lights, Big City with Mindi Abair
10. Hollywood Blues
11. Put Together
12. The Last Day I’m Loving You

Days Of Depression With Blind Boys of Alabama

Newsletter Updates

Enter your email address below to subscribe to our newsletter

One comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.