The Apocalypse Blues Revue Bringing Heavy Blues

The Apocalypse Blues Revue Bringing Heavy Blues

The Apocalypse Blues Revue Bringing Heavy Blues


A new project, the blues is dark, deep, granite hard with glittering sharp edges. The Apocalypse Blues Revue are never going to be formulaic blues with Godsmack’s drummer Shannon Larkin leading the beat. Joining him is bassist Brian Carpenter guitarist Tony Rombola and out in front Ray Cerbone. The four have dug deep into the blues tradition, with a band generating dirty and at times evil vibes. This is blues that shuffles through the darker depths of life, the riffs and licks that make a statement and lyrics that will not make you smile. Yes, the heavyweight rocking blues from The Apocalypse Blues Revue’s self-titled album is blues that growls with a punkish attitude as they mix up the urban with country creating blues that drives through the speaker and let the story of the song connect with the blues being shaped across the album. The Apocalypse Blues Revue Bringing Heavy Blues to a speaker near you.

The guitar playing from Tony is phenomenal, as he shapes the strings into the blues he wants us to hear deep, dark and sorrowful. The vocals match the darkness with Ray Cerbone’s deep rich and at times menacing baritone and how he shapes the lyrics around his mouth and spits them out. This is no twelve-bar blues from beginning to end this is blues that is intense and varies in it shape across the twelve tracks, yet there is something missing. But as they say this is work in progress.

This is a debut album of a new project with the band members bring influences from previous bands. The feeling that the band is borrowing from the likes of The Doors, Hendrix etc. is a great building block as they create an apoplectic sound that is instantly their own. Not looking back but striding forward with confidence as they deliver distinctive heavy-blues.

The world of addiction is explored in Junkie Hell with the intro grungy, dark and sticky with blues guitar, then John sings “lost my woman to the darkside”. This the reality loss without redemption. The guitar tone is deep and adds vibrates against the lyrics this is blues of the darkest shade.  The Tower half way through the album is expansive holding your interest opening the door onto what the band has the potential to produce.

The whole album is dedicated to the blues from the opening notes of Evil Is As Evil Does through to Music’s Over, a cover of The Doors number we are left with blues in our heart and ears and songs that linger delightfully.  Let’s hope that  The Apocalypse Blues Revue music is not over we want to hear this captivating heavy-blues loud, live with it’s refreshing  approach to the blues that is not rock pretending to be blues. This is a band that has festival appeal and like the track Work In Progress they have real potential to develop into a band we instantly recognize.

 The Apocalypse Blues Revue – The Apocalypse Blues Revue – Mascot Group Label


SEVEN pawprint half inchdoodle paws out of TEN ….

Track Listing

  1. Evil Is As Evil Does
  2. Junkie Hell
  3. Devil Plays Strat
  4. I Think Not
  5. Whiskey In My Coffee
  6. The Tower
  7. Crossed Over
  8. Blues Are Fallin’ From The Sky
  9. Work In Progress
  10. The Devil In Me
  11. Blue Cross
  12. Music’s Over

Newsletter Updates

Enter your email address below to subscribe to our newsletter

One comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.