Tasha Taylor bringing Honey For Your Biscuit

Tasha Taylor bringing Honey For Your Biscuit

Tasha Taylor bringing Honey For Your Biscuit




Tasha Taylor, sings soulfully on Honey For Your Biscuit on RUF Records. Part of the 2016 Blues Caravan: Blues Sisters; Tasha is joined by Canadian Layla Zoe and Finnish Ina Forsman. Hailing from the USA the album is replete with a full luscious sound that provides an interesting platform for Tasha’s vocals that are full of soulful blues emotions. Tasha Taylor bringing Honey For Your Biscuit
Her third album and Tasha singer/songwriter/ musician has collected thirteen original songs. As Tasha says I’m carrying on the next generation of rhythm, blues and soul… Bridging the gap between one generation and another. It’s my family business – as well as my passion” Family Business, yes she is daughter of Stax giant Johnnie Taylor.

Kicking the biscuit into action with Feel So good with horns and her vocals that have a tenderness with a bitter edge that adds a dollop of soul into every breath of the blues she breathes. This album is packed with musicians and dropping by is Keb’ Mo’ on Family Tree. With guitar that is gentle and stinging the chants of the chorus ring through the speaker filling the room with a number you feel at home with. Three of the tracks are co-written with Tom Hambridge and Richard Fleming, Leave That Dog Alone, How Long and Weatherman. Each one has a different vibe, but get ready to be foot tapping, getting up and dancing with the catchy How Long that rocks and rolls along with a beat that is infectious. Then it is time for some funk with Leave That Dog Alone.

Every track moves along many are lyric light and chorus heavy, but the instrumentation adds layers of funked-up blues and soul. The album is without doubt easy listening. I would have loved to have Tasha and her vocal power to have shaken and stirred the blues, and challenged & explored the depth of instrumental shapes that these great musicians could have delivered and made us excited about Honey For Your Biscuit.

Closing with Same Old Thing and Tommy Castro on the microphone, Tasha Taylor bringing Honey For Your Biscuit has blues dripping from the honey spoon. Tasha Taylor knows how to entertain you her music is approachable, stylish and mainstream. As she says getting blues noticed by the next generation.

Bluesdoodles gives this CD SEVEN pawprint half inchdoodle paws out of TEN ….
Honey For Your Biscuit – Tasha TaylorRUF Records – purchase HERE
Track Listing
1. Feel so good
2. Wedding Bells
3. Family Tree
4. Weatherman
5. Ona and Only
6. Little Miss Suzie
7. I Knew
8. How Long
9. That Man
10. Leave That Dog Alone
11. Places I Miss
12. Don’t Rush Off
13. Same Old Thing

Newsletter Updates

Enter your email address below to subscribe to our newsletter

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.