Stomping Southern Rock Flavoured Good-time Band

Stomping Southern Rock Flavoured Good-time BandStomping Southern Rock Flavoured Good-time Band

Imagine an industrial strength music blender; tip in some ZZ Top, some Steven & the Seagulls, add a dash of Aerosmith, a soupcon of Cajun sauce & a sprinkle of bluegrass spice – set blender to maximum & watch it spit out… The Outlaw Orchestra. Still not clear? Try Brothers Osborne but with banjo & spoons! Yes, they are really that diverse a blend – an energy filled, stomping southern rock flavoured good time band. This is what you get on Dirty & Diesel  @ The Dugout high-octane fun.

They are a 4-piece band hailing from the Southampton area comprising David Roux – Guitars/Lead Vocals, Ryan Smith – Drums/Percussion/Vocals, Alex Barter – Double Bass/Vocals, Stephen Welch – Banjo & was for a short time known as Dirty Diesel Outlaw Orchestra; having dropped the Dirty & the Diesel they still provide a mighty fine southern boogie on this release.

The first track kicks off with a solid groove based on a recurring mouth organ theme & sets the tone for a fun ride throughout. Hangin’ Tree starts off at a frenetic pace & this is where the spoons make an appearance – with the banjo to the fore, Deliverance inevitably enters one’s mind! Whiskey Drinkin’ Liar has a humorous, lyrical take on the perils of drink backed with the best backing banjo playing this side of Otis Taylor’s album Recapturing the Banjo (worth a listen if you appreciate this often maligned instrument). Chicken Bones, with its slide guitar intro & cowbell, is really fun.

The rest of the tracks follow the pattern with the true stand out being the 5 minute plus Brand New Day – a story of drink, money & relationship problems sound-tracked by some tasteful guitar & (at last) some tempo changes. With the distinctive vocals of David Roux, they are a cross between Bon Scott, Lemmy & Andrew McClatchie… this is a good thing.

The only fault with this intriguing album is the lack of true light & shade resulting in all of the tracks sounding little too similar. Stopping this live album from standing out from the crowd and achieving a higher rating. They are very active on the live scene & Facebook the live album is a taster, as the band have a new EP planned for release early 2018.

The Outlaw Orchestra – Dirty Diesel @ The Dugout – Independent

SEVENpawprint half inchdoodle paws out of TEN …

Track Listing:

  1. Too Much Willie Nelson
  2. Hangin’ Tree
  3. Whiskey Drinkin’ Liar
  4. Another World
  5. Chicken Bones
  6. Voodoo Queen
  7. Burn the House
  8. Send Some Whiskey Home
  9. It Ain’t Right
  10. Brand New Day

Stomping Southern Rock Flavoured Good-time Band

Newsletter Updates

Enter your email address below to subscribe to our newsletter

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.