Slim Butler Blues Has No Bad Intention

Slim Butler Blues Has No Bad IntentionSlim Butler Blues Has No Bad Intention

Definitely, there is no Bad Intention in the blues on the album. Finland with its long icy winters is associated with being blue with cold. The blues are warmed up as Finnish Slim Butler brings blues to every note he and his band plays on his second album Bad Intention. With ten originals creating the perfect backdrop for Jarmo ‘Slim’ Puhakka’s vocals and guitars to explore music that is blues, soul, funk and more. His music with a rawness is created with the rhythm section completing the trio with bassist Hannu Lehtomaa joining drummer Esko Ollila. This is a trio that is full of good intentions fiery heat that will melt that arctic ice and snow. Every track has Northern Lights shading the blues with a variety of hues, as the trio are joined by guest musicians across the album. Opening with a soulful number All About You the mood created is smooth and easy, more Detroit than arctic in its warm delivery, the keys and horns fill out the sound with ease. You know this is an album to curl up and relax to and let the music flow as you experience Scandinavian Hygge. The beat picks up with stinging funkiness as we explore Junk In The Trunk. Perfect for the season as 2016 draws to a close is Jumpin’ Santa get up boogie. Why? This is a good time Santa that just wants to party! The title track has stinging guitar with a strong percussive beat this is hitting the blues notes. We are back in the funk zone with Cryin’ Shame the horns are spot on as we walk the funky walk with guitar and vocals. Closing with Coast to Coast blues guitar and keys meld in a number that is full of timing and dripping with the Albert Collins approach to the blues as the notes fade on a bluesy album. The music is solid blues, nothing quirky or challenging the guitar is full of power and the vocals give the lyrics plenty of shading. Bad Intention is definitely not one-dimensional as Slim Butler stretches the blues with Finnish style.

SEVEN pawprint half inchdoodle paws out of TEN ….

Track Listing

  1. All About You
  2. Mean Trouble
  3. Junk In The Trunk
  4. It Ain’t Me
  5. Jumpin’ Santa
  6. Bad Intention
  7. Monkey Moon
  8. Cryin’ Shame
  9. Lady In Blue
  10. Coast To Coast


Newsletter Updates

Enter your email address below to subscribe to our newsletter

One comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.