Robert Cray Band ~ 4 Nights of 40 Years Live

Robert CrayThis is a double delight to celebrate Robert Cray’s achievement of playing to packed theatres for four decades and the music played on the CD/DVD combination that is 4 Nights of 40 Years Live. His regular band, bassist, friend and collaborator Richard Cousins , Dover Weinberg on keys and drummer Les Falconer with Robert Cray out front are enjoying entertaining, engaging with the crowds and are joined by vocalist Kim Wilson, Lee Oskar on harmonica, tenor saxophonist Trevor Lawrence, Steve Madalo on trumpet and saxophonist Tom Scott.

The album opens with the familiar intro regarding flash photography and welcome the one and only Robert Craaaaaaaaaaaay! And the show begins with that familiar stratospheric Fender Strat sound and then the warm and rounded tone of his vocals as I Shiver all over. One thing is for certain when the guitar is played as clean as Cray does there is nowhere to hide it is faultless or rubbish and 4 Nights of Forty Years Live he hits the right note, tonal ping to accentuate the emotions of the lyrics he is singing, the voice and guitar are in perfect harmony. This is Robert Cray at the top of his game full of confidence and a deep understanding of the music Poor Johnny with a harsher guitar sound and the tale unfurls and the audience once again is captivated. There is jazz and soul that has cavernous depths and a rich tonal gradient as played in the much loved track Love Gone To Waste. The songs have been picked to reflect the range of Cray’s style; we have rock radio favourites Bad Influence and Right Next Door (Because Of Me) – a track every audience expects and demands to hear.

DVD opens with Black and White stills of Robert Cray and him talking about the music then the music begins who needs talking as you see the band in studio rehearsing I Shiver with the trumpet, keys and centre stage Mr Cray himself. There are snippets of thoughts form Eric Clapton, Jimmie Vaughan and many others praising, enjoying and loving Robert Cray’s Blues and powerful performances. The DVD has that added dimension you can see the show up close through the cameraman’s lens; perfect entertainment to sit back and let the music dilute your troubles and woes with each note reality fades and there is a new reality you and the music of Robert Cray.
It is also fantastic to see young Mr Cray live in the 1980’s playing at festivals in the hot sunshine making the blues a hot commodity, he has never lost that magic touch on the guitar.

Some tracks are on both formats but there are enough variations so that you will listen to both at different times and behind the scenes and thoughts are always interesting allowing the fan to understand what makes Robert Cray the force he has been over forty years with his clean and seemingly simple style, he is the blues.

4 Nights of 40 Years Live, is a must for the phalanx of Robert Cray’s music and everyone demands vocals that zing and guitar playing that is note perfect surrounded by musicians that just want to make the music sound deep, full of blues and tonal delights. Robert Cray is the master of the Blues that connects as he weaves in influences from the last forty years this is music celebrating yesterday, playing today and will be enjoyed long into the future.


OUT: 28th AUGUST 2015




4 Nights Of Forty Years Live Trailer

Bluesdoodles gives this CD NINE pawprint half inchdoodle paws out of TEN ….

Robert Cray ~ 4 Nights of 40 Years Live (CD/DVD) – Mascot Label Group

Track Listing CD

Disc 1 Disc 2 (bonus)
1. I shiver 1. I Guess I Showed Her*
2. I’’ll Always Remember You 2. Right Next Door (Because Of Me)*
3. Poor Johnny 3. Smoking Gun*
4. Won’t Be Coming Home 4. Still Around*
5. Your Good Thing Is About To End 5. Too Many Cooks ^
6. Sittin’ On Top Of The World 6. T-Bone Shuffle ^
7. Wrap It Up
8. Love Gone To Waste * Live at Dutch TV Show Countdown 1987
9. Bad Influence ^ Live at SFO Blues Festival San Francisco 1982
10. These Things
11. Right Next Door (Because Of Me)
12. The Forecast (Calls For Pain)
13. Time Makes Two

Track Listing DVD
1. Intro/I Shiver
2. T-Bone Shuffle
3. Love Gone To Waste
4. I Guess I Showed her
5. I’ll Always Remember You
6. Your Good Thing Is About To End
7. Too Many Cooks
8. Wrap It Up
9. Won’t Be Coming Home
10. Smokin Gun
11. Sittin’ ON Top Of The World
12. Two Steps From The End
13. Bad Influence
14. These Things
15. Right Next Door (Because Of Me)
16. The Forecast (Calls For Pain)
17. Time Makes Two
18. These Things

October U.K. Tour

Sat 3 October – Lowry, Salford
Mon 5 October – Royal Concert Hall, Nottingham
Tues 6 October – St David’s Hall, Cardiff
Weds 7 October – Truro Hall, Truro
Fri 9 October – The Anvil, Basingstoke
Sat 10 October – Theatre Royal, Norwich
Mon 12 October – Barbican, London
Tues 13 October – Sage, Gateshead
Weds 14 October – Royal Concert Hall, Glasgow
Fri 16 October – Town Hall, Birmingham
Sat 17 October – City Hall, Salisbury
Sun 18 October – Orchard, Dartford
Mon 19 October – Assembly Halls, Tunbridge Wells
Weds 21 October – Town Hall, Cheltenham
Thurs 22 October – Corn Exchange, Cambridge
Fri 23 October – Alban Arena, St Albans

Bad Influence

Newsletter Updates

Enter your email address below to subscribe to our newsletter

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.