Lucky 13 Kris Barras Band Ain’t Superstitious

Lucky 13 Kris Barras Band  Ain’t Superstious

Lucky 13 Kris Barras Band Ain’t Superstitious

Follow up album to 2015’s Self-titled the Kris Barras Band are back with a second album. Luck 13, builds on the sound this is full of the combination of Kris Barras vocals and emotive blues guitar with a the zing of rock. The trio has become a quartet with the addition of Martin Vowles on keys which adds another textural interest. This means that, when combined with special guest Phoebe Lons vocals and blues-harp from Simo Lane, there is enough blues attitude to excite. Anyone who has seen Kris Barras Band live over the last thirteen years will recognize the numbers as they have been part of the set lists long before this visit to the studio. This gives the music a feeling of permanency the tunes and lyrics have a comfortable worn feel that comes with familiarity as does a confidence about how to shape each phrase.

With its eleven tracks Lucky 13 rattles and rolls the blues with a twirl and a swirl of rhythms. Opening with Heart On Your Sleeve, Kris’s vocals growl and emotions are raw contrasting with the up-tempo harp and guitar and rock anthem chorus ensures this catchy number stays in your music head and definitely gets you into the album and ready to hear more. The blues is strong deep and the Devon Delta curls through I Got Time, the beat is swampy and the number has soul embedded deep in the heart of blues you want to sit back and enjoy. The blues flows with more, you can never have too much of Kris Barras’ strat that wends and winds itself around the melody with consummate ease and pleasure. I Can’t Help You Now with its machine gun drumming and the backing vocals of Phoebes again is an ear worm that stays lingering in your musical senses. This album is drenched in blues and the rocky elements add grit to the sound. I’m Gone is full of southern heat and spice infectious and very very tasty. Tearing Me Apart with Phoebe’s vocals and Kris’s guitar is harmony personified. She adds another shading of sound to the album and this is the perfect track to lift the album half way through. Fast guitar and a pace that gets the blood rushing the feet pounding and for many the dance floor would beckon. This is blues with a country edge and it is fun I loved Small Town Blues’ defiant attitude and the honky tonk piano rocked. No blues album is complete without a visit by the devil. Blues with a rocking urgency leaves the album with energy and verve as Kris sings Devil’s Done Alright By Me.

Once again Kris, hits the right pace, the guitar is smooth as polished wood with a patina of deep emotions to keep you interested. The harmonica adds the deepest shading of blues and Phoebe’s vocals add another texture. An album that will never gather dust on the shelf. It is blues that make you glad that you listened to Lucky 13.

Bluesdoodles gives this CD EIGHT pawprint half inchdoodle paws out of TEN ….


Kris Barras BandLucky 13 – Independent

Track Listings

  1. Heart On Your Sleeve
  2. I Got Time
  3. Rock ‘n Roll running through my veins
  4. I can’t help you now
  5. I’m Gone
  6. Nothing to hide
  7. Tearing me apart
  8. Big city lights
  9. Small Town Blues
  10. Too dumb To Care
  11. Devil’s done alright by me

Newsletter Updates

Enter your email address below to subscribe to our newsletter


  1. […] born Kris Barras isn’t new to the blues-rock stage, having released his first album, Lucky 13, in 2015. This new release is a step up for Barras, however, as it is his first for the […]

  2. […] 2016 Kris Barras released “Lucky 13”. The album was titled as such as it was his 13th year as a professional musician and a “now or […]

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.