Live In 1967 – Vol 2 John Mayall Bluesbreakers

Live In 1967 – Volume Two John Mayall & The Bluesbreakers
Live In 1967 – Vol 2 John Mayall Bluesbreakers

Second volume of thirteen tracks that captures a moment in time 1967 and the British Blues revolution. May have just been re-visited by Joe Bonamassa but this is the real deal John Mayall and The Bluesbreakers performing live at various locations. This short-lived and exciting ground breaking line-up of the Bluesbreakers joining John’s vocals, keys and harmonica are Peter Green (lead Guitar); John McVie (Bass) and Mick Fleetwood on drums. This second volume delivers another aural insight into this inventive period. Three tracks are ‘repeats’, but do not expect the same played on different nights the improvisations makes them feel different in tone and energy every time they are played live. Recorded by Tom Huissen, a staunch fan from Holland, during the three months they were together on a one channel reel-to-reel tape recorded at clubs including Bromley, Marquee, The Ram Jam Club and Klook’s Kleek this is a glimpse into musical history.

Opening with Tears In My Eyes, the recording may be imperfect, but the feeling, tone and the sheer musicality of the quartet spins out of the dusty past and showers down from your speakers. The sound is complex with layers of tones and delicate intricacies, but above all there is a simplicity of men playing music that moves their very being. Joining the band on Stormy Monday, is guest vocalist Ronnie Jones. Ronnie was a lead singer with a British Soul band and original member of Blues Incorporated a contemporary band to the bluesbreakers. Ronnie an American serviceman though would often sit in at a Bluesbreakers gig and remembers John Mayall. As we go into So Many Roads , the audiences delight can be heard then into the music this is history captured, the feel of the fluid freedom of 1960’s music cannot be emulated only copied. The third of the repeats is the Otis Rush track Double Trouble, once again the improvisations makes this a recollection too special to miss out, this isn’t regurgitating what you played last night it is feeling the music, atmosphere and creating the sound for the moment.

Every track is a highlight, Greeny is very special. A great instrumental that flows, the notes ebb and flow and like a river of sound the beat takes you on a journey that you share with Peter Green for five glorious minutes. Peter Green’s guitar work and John on keys meld into a hot pot of musical fire that lights the way as this historical album gives a glimpse into these special three months when John Mayall had these musicians before Fleetwod Mac. These are tracks that continue to inspire and are the cornerstone of rock/blues history we will hear many versions but the raw, live power of London 1967 is definitely extraordinary.

A big debt of gratitude is owed to the technical brilliance of Eric Corne at Forty Below Records. With his tender care and expertise, he has restored the tapes with empathy without losing the live feel and the sounds of the sixties.

John Mayall and The Bluesbreakers – Live In 1967 – Volume Two – Forty Below Records.

Bluesdoodles gives this CD EIGHT pawprint half inchdoodle paws out of TEN ….

Track Listing

  1. Tears In My Eyes
  2. Your Funeral And My Trial
  3. So Many Roads
  4. Bye Bye Bird
  5. Please Don’t Tell
  6. Sweet Little Angel
  7. Talk To Your Daughter
  8. Bad Boy
  9. Stormy Monday
  10. Greeny
  11. Ridin’ On The L&n
  12. Chicago Line
  13. Double Trouble

Newsletter Updates

Enter your email address below to subscribe to our newsletter

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.