Jack J Hutchinson Set Your Heart For The Sun

Jack J Hutchinson Set Your Heart For The SunJack J Hutchinson Set Your Heart For The Sun

Jack Hutchinson, is a troubadour, he sings with his heart and travels far and wide with guitar electric, unplugged as part of a jam Jack with his infectious blues will be at a festival or gig.  Now, the trio has a debut album Set your Heart For The Sun as Jack J Hutchinson’s Boom Boom Brotherhood releases their debut album. Surrounding himself with musicians who rock to the sound Jack has perfected a recollection of the seventies but not so much retro as the music is of the now.  Joining Jack are Rick Baxendale who can be found adding bass guitar, piano and keys and percussive depths, Jim Brazendale on drums and Harmonica courtesy of guest Tom Brundage. This is a vintage sound that makes you smile, Jack and the brotherhood have captured music sunshine in an album that is bright and full of optimism. Yes, some of the tracks, fans of Jack will recognise from previously released EPs; some re-worked and work as a definitive collection of tracks defining Jack and The Brotherhood style. Fusing harmonies within a cocoon of vintage blues, roots, southern rock and the special ingredient bravery to be themselves making Set Your Heart For The Sun a standout debut.

Opening with a fuzzy psychedelic opening refrain we are introduced to Jack’s vocals for the first time with Love Is Gonna Bring You Home. A number that would have fitted neatly into Led Zep’s or Peter Green’s discography.  The tempo and texture are smoother with Hey Hey Hey; a rootsy number that is beguiling in its strength and simplicity.  The piano and guitar work in harmony playing off each other’s chords with a searing intensity. We are pulled back into the heydey of the sixties with a Beatles infused Fight Fire With Fire, the energy is youthful dynamic and we know this is no slavish copy it is the Boom Boom Brotherhood in full flood of celebration. Nothing is dampening this band’s fire in the belly to play the music that inspires them.

Now we have some blues with Tom’s harmonica adding a tonal layer of authenticity on Souled Out, the fluidity of song that builds around the roots core will have every listener tapping their feet with delight.  The guitar weeps as we are exploring The Rivers Cries, the harmonica moans and Jack’s voice intones the story as it unfolds a wonderful track that fuses all the elements that make Jack J Hutchinson stand above the crowd.  With songs of betrayal unveiled as we meet Jezebel, there is a sting a harder edge to the drumming as the tale is ground out and we see the darker side of love.

Closing the album out with Wake Up; it is a message wake up and get to know Jack J Hutchinson’s Boom Boom Brotherhood, as they meld the essence that is roots that rock with a modern cadence of tone and texture. The originals certainly make you feel the warmth of the bands Blues sunshine.

Jack J. Hutchinson’s Boom Boom Brotherhood – Set Your Heart For The Sun – Independent

NINEpawprint half inchdoodle paws out of TEN ….

Track Listing

  1. Love Is Gonna You Home
  2. Boom
  3. Hey Hey Hey
  4. Get It Back
  5. Fight Fire With Fire
  6. Lone Dreamer – Hidden Dream
  7. Souled Out
  8. Look In The Mirror
  9. The River Cries
  10. Loving Man
  11. Jezebel
  12. Long Time Coming
  13. Wake Up


Jack J Hutchinson Set Your Heart For The Sun

Newsletter Updates

Enter your email address below to subscribe to our newsletter

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.