EJ Solo Personal Acoustic Guitar from Eric Johnson

EJ Solo Personal Acoustic Guitar from Eric JohnsonEJ Solo Personal Acoustic Guitar
from Eric Johnson


EJ is Eric Johnson’s first solo acoustic album with four covers and nine originals as we get up close and personal. A different side of Eric as we hear the piano, guitar with either steel or nylon strings in perfect accord with the vocals that sting with emotional fallout.  Eric Johnson has created an album that has quiet intensity, it is as personal as a recorded album can be. Close your eyes sit back and relax as you enter the private space of Johnson’s front room.

Opening with an instrumental version of Simon and Garfunkel’s  Mrs Robinson the scene is set this is mellow time the wood and steel can be appreciated as the vibrations sting through the immaculately produced track. This is not the last guitar finger picking slashing through the melodies from a consummate guitarist that makes the acoustic hum with energy and rays of chord driven sunshine, including Once Upon A Time In Texas. We have Spanish flamenco style as the guitar serenades up on Serinidad and closing the album as we begun with a stylish instrumental Song For Irene.

The album EJ released thirty years after his breakthrough solo release we are treated to nine originals and four covers. Along with Mrs Robinson , another Simon & Garfunkel favourite is given the EJ treatment. Scarborough Fair with piano and vocals that gives the number a gently lilting feel. One Rainy Wish is given a spectacular re-arrangement as Jimi Hendrix goes mellow with an edge as the piano imparts a jazz inflection.  With the dance-driven country fair vibe of Les Paul and Mary Ford’s The World Is Waiting For The Sunrise. Joining Eric is guest guitarist Doyle Dykes making the music a technicolour array of twists and turns as the acoustic six strings are explored.

His own compositions add musical depth and demonstrates the feel for the instrument whether it is guitar, piano or vocals that EJ is using to deliver the melody.  It will definitely be no Wonder that this is an acoustic album that will get the listeners attention the guitar is the perfect backing for his vocals on this track and Fatherly Downs, which for me is my favourite the lyrical beauty of the words and the sting of the string make the track full of interest as in November where the piano and cello develop a sound scape that reflects the month as winter takes hold with a melancholy sadness.

In his own words “Ever since I was young, I’ve played piano and acoustic guitar in my private life,” Johnson says. “This type of music has always been a part of me, but I never showcased it on any kind of bigger level, like a full acoustic record. With EJ, I just decided to be more honest with myself and everybody, and show more of my personal side.” EJ is an acoustic album that has an intimacy between performer and listener not often achieved on a studio album.   The light and dark shadows and moody intensity all keep your attention on the lyrics and above all the melody.

Eric Johnson – EJ – Mascot Label Group

EIGHT pawprint half inchdoodle paws out of TEN ….

Track Listing

  1. Mrs Robinson
  2. Water Under The Bridge
  3. Wonder
  4. Wrapped in A Cloud
  5. Once Upon A Time In Texas
  6. One Rainy Wish
  7. Serinidad
  8. Fatherly Downs
  9. The World Is Waiting For The Sunshine
  10. November
  11. All Things You Are
  12. Scarborough Fair
  13. Song For Irene

Newsletter Updates

Enter your email address below to subscribe to our newsletter

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.