CD Review: The Mighty Bosscats ~ Boiling Pot



The Mighty Bosscats
Boiling Pot



An earth full of earthy grit, with swirls of musical delights that shape and swell around the vocals of Richard Townend, creating a textured canvas for the lyric to hook on to as life and religious phrases are explored. This is an album straight out of the Delta, with a mix of swampy blues, acoustic and a twist of country that have been distilled in to the boiling pot of a moonshining eleven tracks that will delight lovers of American south influence music, with edgy Texan blues.
Opening with I Need a Friend with such subtle squeeze box, it is no doubt before the first track is completed The Mighty Bosscats will have made new friends and old friends pleased to be re-acquainted with their style of blues. The title track is an homage to a stove in the kitchen with a boiling pot, not cooking food but things you forget as the guitar, harp and rhythm section adds a feeling of emptiness around the scene being painted, this is meaningful blues; where is the redemption.
The tempo picks up and the mood lightens with a train beat boogie with Express showing the dexterity and skill of the band this is a boiling pot that bubbles with different spices and tones.
This is not what you expect, Candyman is a freshly written track like the rest of the album penned by Richard Townend; and the words are as sweet as the title and have not borrowed from either Mississippi John Hurt, Willy Wonka or anywhere else.
Every track has a strength and fits well into the album whose production and quality of delivery is outstanding so that the lyrics and the music are not competing or at war with each other but in harmony so the whole can be enjoyed.
Lordy, Lordy, Lordy has a hill country feel, a trip to a country fair feel as the music is bright and breezy a real contrast to the wonderful vocal skills of Richard; as he develops the song around a well-known phrase.
As the album closes we have two tracks that really are special the guitar introduction of the penultimate track, Take Me To Waco Station, leads us into powerful words that are shaped and gently moulded and delivered by Richard as the tempo raises and the elegant drumming acts as a perfect backdrop and then the closing track, for me always important as they linger and can determine whether the album is re-visited, Pride is a perfect distillation of all that makes this album such a good listen.

Bluesdoodles gives this CD SEVEN doodle paws out of TEN ….pawprint half inch

1. I Need A Friend
2. Boiling Pot
3. 2:45 Express
4. Elvis Coming Home
5. Bad Luck Blues
6. Candyman
7. The Devil Inside
8. Lordy Lordy Lordy
9. Switch The Tracks
10. Take Me To Waco Station
11. Pride

Newsletter Updates

Enter your email address below to subscribe to our newsletter

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.