CD Review : Dan Patlansky ~ Dear Silence Thieves

danpatlansky cdDan Patlansky
Dear Silence Thieves

This is an album that has stylish design and a clever theme of sound reflecting the album’s title Dear Silence Thieves – encapsulating what so many of us feel when audiences chatter rather than listen; and is dedicated to two Silence Thieves who left a venue embarrassed when an artist stopped his music and said “You two need to shut the F#@K up or get out!” This is an album you will want to listen to and remember to challenge next time someone steals your silent space as it opens as it means to continue delivering quality music with a rock whacked with solid blues licks and riffs the sound just endears itself so that you find yourself putting the album on repeat, that way you get to hear all the nuances that Dan Patlansky incorporates into the guitar playing and delivering his self-penned lyrics.

The opening track of his seventh album; Backbite is full of power, charisma and soul as he makes the six-strings of his fender bend to his command and the gruff vocals are the perfect foil for the music line on this track with its catchy licks; this is rock-blues that deserves your attention.
Pop Collared Jockey is dirty blues that draws you in so that you want to know all about the jockey and the echo effect of the vocals gives another layer of interest of depth and then the cymbals clash and the tempo is upped and the rocky Dan is unleashed.

We have a change of tempo now that you are hooked Hold On is more laid back with gentler lyrics reflected in the vocals and guitar breaks that are so emotionally drenched it feels like you are being pulled into the vibe and is one of the stand-out tracks of this deservedly critically acclaimed album.
With Windmills and the Sea, the mood calms down and we see the acoustic talent as he delivers a song full of intimacy and emotion and back to electric with another salty water inspired track; Only and Ocean and his vocals show a lyrical side as he switches from a Tom Waits growl to a vocal range that could front any Prog Rock Band.

We have the wavelength of Gary Moore with attitude on Our War the strongest track for me on this album with Tom Waits style delivery of the lyrics, a balanced shining gem on an album that has a balance of tempos and style but keeping shape and with every track recognizably Dan Patlansky.
There is no doubt that Dan Patlansky’s name in the UK will be recognized as this South African singer-songwriter and guitarist knows how to release quality exciting music. It is not surprising that Bruce Springsteen personally chose him to open for him at the FNB Stadium in Johannesburg, it is more amazing that he is an unknown on the British circuit.
Buy the album and enjoy Blues-Rock that is sublime and wonder why you have never heard of the talented 30 year-old guitar slinging maestro – better still see him live at The Borderline London, Monday April 27th 2015

Bluesdoodles gives this CD TEN doodle paws out of TEN ….pawprint half inch

Track Listing
1. Backbite
2. Pop Collar Jockey
3. Fetch Your Spade
4. Hold On
5. Taking Chances
6. Windmills And The Sea
7. Only An Ocean (Reprise)
8. Your War
9. Feels Like Home
10 Madison Lane

Dear Silence thieves (2015)
Wooden Thoughts (2013)
20 Stones (2012)
Move My soul (2009)
True Blues (2004)
Standing at the Station (1999)

Newsletter Updates

Enter your email address below to subscribe to our newsletter


  1. […] DAN PATLANSKY April / May 2015 U.K. tour. “DEAR SILENCE THIEVES” – VOTED #1 ALBUM – Blues Rock review’s top 20 albums poll. Bluesdoodles said “salty water inspired track; Only and Ocean and his vocals show a lyrical side as he switches from a Tom Waits growl to a vocal range that could front any Prog Rock Band” Click for FULL REVIEW […]

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.