CD Review: Chantel McGregor ~ Lose Control

lose_controlChantel McGregor
Lose Control
Tis rock Music Ltd
Release Date Friday 9th October 2015

For many the wait has been far too long, her fans have been impatient for a follow-up album to her critically acclaimed debut album Like No Other – the wait is over Lose Control has a release date and we have a very different Chantel. Lose Control sees a maturity a confidence in the music Chantel wants and can deliver – rock with melodic attitude and the gentle but powerful soprano vocals acting as a counterpoint to the gritty riffs and licks she draws from the guitar. The songs are all new, full of rock anthems, and explores the dark side of Southern Gothic Literature and beyond; this may be about losing control, but Ms McGregor remains in control of the shaping of every chord, lick, beat of the drum and rise and fall of her vocals. We have a Chantel who believes in the music and will be noticed for her unique combination of rock guitar, vocals of an angel and the ability to write songs that have something to say, as demonstrated in the ten tracks that forms this modern rock album.

The signature riffing guitar combo opens the album as a new voice of Chantel falls from the speakers and across the room, hello I am grown up and I rock she says Take The Power this is a song drenched in emotion the torture that you have to go through to have control of your own destiny. By the end of the track she has you in the palm of her hand. Her guitar playing is throughout sublime as the six-strings are bent to her will with a gravelly, deeply textured tone this is rock with the spirit of Stevie Nicks in control. Your Fever is heavier and the guitar is dirty and the voice pure a combination that intoxicates and blisters the skin and melts the ice. The we have an acoustic take on rock a gentler tone and a lullaby texture with Anaethetise, as you are transported into an ethereal world where the haunting tones act as a cleansing balm, why Love, Hate, Memory, Paint, Guilt, Shame, Redemption, Blame all elements collide in the shade behind the eyes she sings with the cello playing a lament that pierces the soul. Wow what a track to throw into a rock drenched album, the next track Southern Belle is back to searing rock, full of debauchery again painted by both the guitar and vocals this is once again emotionally charged and draws you with no resistance into the title track with the instantly recoganisable Chantel shaping of the guitar. Then we have acoustic Chantel with a song that is personal to her, the cello adds a mournful tone as you think of memories of Home a beautiful song crafted with empathy and again a confident artist including this stripped back number in an album that is rock; yet here Chantel finds her way home creating he music she wants us to hear demonstrating the depth of talent that is Chantel McGregor. Killing Time is the heaviest and raunchiest track on the album you can hear the influences of contemporary rock from the likes of Royal Blood and The Black Keys. The vocals are not the dominant force here it is the powerful combo of guitar and rhythm section and it works. Closing the album Walk On Land is progressive music full of textures, tones, beauty and varied approaches in delivering emotionally drenched lyrics we have a completely different sound lots of interesting backing instrumentation as the backing vocals allow Chantel to build the mood as she explores how despite time moving on somethings never change they remain the same whatever the season. This is a thoughtful track that leaves us wondering what the third album will bring as Chantel explores what she is capable of, with her sparkling talent as guitarist, vocalist and songwriter. Lose Control – never lets Rock on and relish listening to the talent that is Chantel McGregor.

Bluesdoodles gives this CD TEN pawprint half inchdoodle paws out of TEN ….

TRACK LISTING – Chantel McGregor – Lose Control

1. Take The Power
2. Your Fever
3. Burn Your Anger
4. Anaesthetize
5. Southern Belle
6. Lose Control
7. Home
8. Killing Time
9. Eternal Dream
10. Walk On Land

Chantel is on extensive tour of the UK check out dates and venues HERE

Newsletter Updates

Enter your email address below to subscribe to our newsletter

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.