Black & Blues with Sunjay – music with no bruises

Black & Blue With Sunjay - music with no bruises

Black & Blues with Sunjay – music with no bruises



Black & Blues with Sunjay, traditional songs that have all undergone a rearrangement by Sunjay traditional songs recorded in a day in August at New Mountain Studios. The result of this is an album titled Black and Blues, which leaves you unbruised with a sound that flows connecting to your musical antennae like a live session. The album flows with the intermingling of Sunjay’s velvety vocals, acoustic guitar adding tones and contours and the stomp of the board punctuating the sound.


Opening with Drop Down Mama, his voice and finger-picking stand out and pulls you into the music, the innuendos picked over and spat out as the 1935 number from Sleepy John Estes picked up and modernised.  This is how the rest of the album progresses a perfect combo of voice that interweaves with the guitar creating traditional harmonies that have been given a fresh lease of life. Black & Blues with Sunjay – music with no bruises shares with his growing phalanx of fans songs that form the heart of musical backdrop with favourites when performing live; through to one of the first songs he learnt to play finger-picking – Nobody Wants To Know You When You Are Down. Showcasing his mastery of finger picking guitar playing. Black & Blues has a mix of styles with the ballad being celebrated with the re-telling of a true story of a murder, bartender and policeman on Duncan and Brady.


The music plays on curling round like a comfortable chair and instils you with the warmth of your favourite tipple and the re-working of One Scotch, One Bourbon, One Beer works well stripped back and full of Sunjay’s double talent of guitar and vocals that sing together. Closing with Trouble In Mind, I have no trouble in recommending this for fans of vocals and acoustic guitar flavoured with the Blues and traditional tempo given a re-vamp through the talent that is Sunjay.


Black & Blues; is his fourth album and his exploration of early twentieth century blues fills the speakers with a modern sound rooted in tradition. There is no doubt having heard Sunjay recorded he is on Bluesdoodles list of acts to see performing live in 2016.

Bluesdoodles gives this CD EIGHT pawprint half inchdoodle paws out of TEN ….

Track Listing

  1. Drop Down Mama
  2. Nobody Wants To Know You When You Are Down
  3. Duncan & Brady
  4. James Infirmary
  5. Pallet On the floor
  6. You Don’t Learn That In School
  7. One Scotch, One Bourbon, One Beer
  8. Delia
  9. Baby Please Don’t Go
  10. Trouble In Mind

Newsletter Updates

Enter your email address below to subscribe to our newsletter

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.