Blues is back in Sheffield HRH 2017


Blues is back in Sheffield HRH 2017


Blues is back in Sheffield HRH 2017


HRH Blues 2016 was superb read what we said HERE


New Jersey’s Billy Walton Band join King King, Ten Years After, Stan Webb, Simon Mc Bride & Dan Patlansky to complete the cycle 3 line up of HRH Blues.

What a line-up this not just promises to be exciting it will be with scintillating guitars, powerful voices as blues is twisted, turned creating a rainbow faceted jewel of every shade of blue. will be rocked, amazed and excited by the music from the first to the last note.

HRH Blues are proud to fly in yet another incredible talent for its 3rd round of Blues rock infused fun in Sheffield.

The Billy Walton Band compliment an already stellar Blues Rock line up and with under 90 tickets remaining, it looks like it will sell out even earlier than last year.

 Ten Years After and Bernie Marsden performing at last year’s HRH Blues 2

 Ten Years After

Bernie Marsden

HRH CEO Jonni Davis praised the band by saying  “ Walton’s talents are no secret among everyone in the Jersey shore music scene and with the founding of the Billy Walton Band, there’s little doubt his reputation will grow far beyond the Garden State. The Billy Walton Band’s sound is a combination of hard blues reminiscent of Hendrix, Clapton and Vaughn mixed with a healthy dose of Warren Hayes and Derrick Trucks.

“Live, Walton has always been an explosive performer with Jaw dropping talent but with the addition of bassist William Paris, Richie Taz on sax and drummer Johnny D’Angelo the Billy Walton band churns out a singular brand of funky blues that has deep roots in both the jam band musical tradition as well as the Jersey shore Walton has cut his teeth on. We can’t wait to see him perform next year in Sheffield.”


HRH Blues 3 takes place on 15th & 16th April 2017 @ the 02 Academy , Sheffield and the last few tickets can be booked online HERE  or by ringing Lisa on 0207 097 1521



Troy Redfern Band ~ Backdoor Hoodoo

819nxt6bzsL._SY355_This is an album the hits the speakers loud and running fast this is no chugging freight train of a sound it is a “Speedy Locomotive” as the words say on the opening track It Stacks; this is a blues song with a train theme that rocks with a driving full blown energy. That said the lyrics are not lost in the maelstrom of kicking guitar and can this momentum run throughout Backdoor Hoodoo or will the quality displayed in the first four minutes run out of steam? The album is a celebration of raw slide guitar. Mean and no backdoor gentleness this is playing for the twenty-first century as the guitar slides over the blues spectrum and the vocals sear with emotion bottled and spat out. This is a band that wants to set their mark as being contemporary; Troy’s vocal cadences growl with a distinctive range that melds with guitar, the rhythm section with Alex Bridge drumming and bassist Stuart McDonald gel together creating a whole sound that you want to listen to. Salvation the third track allows you to take a breather the paces slows but this is nothing pedestrian as you hear the tonal power of his voice and you certainly do not want saving from the music that is rocking good blues as What Goes Around demonstrates. The album is not dominated by slide the guitar howls as the six-strings reverberate the emotion that Troy pours in to the music on War Cry, it just connects to your music radar. As so often it seems that one of my favourite tracks on the album is the shortest, this is a cut down Lamb Of Zion Troy, and guitar full of flair and style and no place to hide. Contrasting with the title track that preceded it add the tonal texture and change to an album that needs to make a listener take notice. We are back flying down his trade mark helter-skelter break-neck speed playing with Back Home; that just doesn’t have the verve of other tracks perhaps it is just the train gathering up its energy. And the last four tracks are spot on as the album drives to the finale This Raging Heart that has twisted the blues with rock and created an industrial sound that will shock many and delight those who want music with attitude and something to say.

Bluesdoodles gives this CD EIGHT doodle paws out of TEN ….

Troy Redfern Band ~ Backdoor Hoodoo – Blues Boulevard Records.

Track Listing

1. It Stacks Fast
2. The Other Side
3. Salvation
4. Wildfire
5. What Goes Around
6. War Cry
7. Backdoor Hoodoo
8. Lamb of Zion
9. Back Home
10. Running With Ghosts
11. Survive
12. Cold Day In Hell
13. This Raging Heart

CD Review – Troy Redfern Band

troyTroy Redfern Band
Independent/Self Release

This is an exciting album from Troy Redfern Band that is not afraid to experiment while still delivering the shape of quality rocking blues with attitude and slide guitar that rips through the soul. This is an album delivered by a band that means business they want you to sit up and listen and this is achieved from the first lick delivered on the opening track, It Stacks the feet are in tune with the music and the ears are in heaven with some delicious slide guitar then you have the blast of vocals from Troy this certainly gets the blood racing. The tone of the album shapes itself around the skills of Troy who fronts the band he is able to deliver this electric fizzing music with the support of a rhythm section of Stuart McDonald, Bass and Phil Greenhouse, Drums; they stabilise the sound and at the same time add swirls of tones, depths and contours. See You On the Other Side is perfect music for any party especially as you approach midnight on New Year’s Eve as the other side is a whole New Year. The band on the album has captured a live sound there is something wild and dangerous about the music that draws you in; at times he reminds me of Gwyn Ashton in his approach, but above all this is a band that plays its own music showcasing Troy’s writing and producing skills on this album that you will want to listen to again and again.

This is an album stepped and shaped by the blues but bringing a fresh original beat to the party as seen on Lions of Zion and in all the rocking tracks there is a rawness that is intoxicating, the highlights are definitely Salvation, War Cry, Backdoor Hoodoo and Running With The Ghosts. This is a band to look out for in 2015 and in the meantime enjoy the CD and the musicianship from Troy Redfern and his band as he delivers music full of authenticity you like high-octane rock driven blues with twists from ZZ Top then you will really enjoy the sound but never expect tame from this talented trio.

Bluesdoodles gives this CD SEVEN doodle paws out of TEN ….pawprint half inch