Reality Hits as Jack J Hutchinson Paints No Fiction

Reality Hits as Jack J Hutchinson Paints No FictionReality Hits as Jack J Hutchinson Paints No Fiction

Jack J Hutchinson, causes a stir whenever and wherever he plays live. His music catches the ear and pulls you deep into his dirty interpretation of the blues. The hooks are deep in the roots and the riffs have the energy of the contemporary music. On Paint No Fiction Jack is joined on this twelve track album that was six months in the making by an intoxicating and exciting array of U.K Blues, Rock and Americana musicians. Genres reflected in an album redolent with raw and dirty dripping with genre-busting intrigue and excitement as he Paints No Fiction; the music is authentic 21st Century British blues-infused music.

Before you listen to a note, the artwork by Aaron Gardner has an inner power, capturing Jack’s personality in shades of brown and yellow. You want to hear the music from a man who dominates the front cover and reflects back images in his sunglasses. You want to uncover what makes the musician tick.

Opening with Deal With The Devil, you are assailed by full on rock crescendo. No traditional blues fuelled deal with the devil. The rock is countered by beats and textures that fall within Americana,  as we get to know the Paint No Fiction music of eleven self-penned numbers. The guitar is raw fuzzy energised with the fluidity of a jam captured and ordered in a studio. As Jack sings ‘The World Don’t Own You A Dime…. Deal With The Devil – The Devil Ain’t Mine’, your attention is truly captured. Moving swiftly into Written In Stone the tone changes as we have hints of dirty rawness inspired by Mississippi Hill Country with guitar work with its fuzzy tone that demands your ears take note whilst your feet just absorb the beat with pure delight.

Each number has its own clear texture tone and approach, Jack has chosen the group of musicians used on each track with care. On the slower Hold Me Close, the acoustic guitar picks out the melodic path and Hutchinson’s vocals still have the signature gruffness but delivered with a gentler cadence. The keys pick up the melodic flow building the tension and creating a soundscape of emotional tension as Jack yearns to be held close. As we Cut The Noose, the blues is strong and pure, considered and reflecting the lyrical depths.  Halfway through the album and we are still in reflective mood with Set Your Heart For The Sun. The percussive tones reflecting and adding shadows to the vocals from Jack that are at the heart of every number.

The tempo heats up the rawness is cutting through the beat on the first single from the album Rattlesnake Woman. This is blues that is mysterious and reflects the psychedelic elements of the cover. The guitar duelling is immense as Hutchinson and Ross battle it out with the six-strings – rather that than a six-shooter. The blues theme is picked up with a harmonica driven whip cracking Skin and Bone.  Jack may sing about Skin and Bone, the sound is full boned nuanced with sharp and sweet licks and melodies as we turn the corner into the last three tracks of the album.

The penultimate track is calmer with Send Me A Signal with a countryesque phrasing of the vocals contrasting with the guitar picked with precision.  The album closes with a full-on luscious sound that floats as we explore Hard Right In My Dreams. Jack Hutchinson and his myriad of guests have created an album that is a sonic exploration of music dipped in the wealth of roots music, shaken and stirred with flashes of modernity.   Every number is a chapter in the story Jack J Hutchinson is creating in Paint No Fiction. It is music genuine to the here and now. The lasting truth of this work of musical art is authenticity.

Hutchinson album launches Paint No Fiction with a special ‘Last Waltz’ style gig at Ain’t Nothing But, Soho London featuring all the musicians on the album.
A Date for your diaries that is a certainty – 8th December 2017.

Jack J. Hutchinson: Vocals and guitar
Mike Ross: Electric Bass and guitar
Alberto Manuzzi: Keyboards
Marc Burguera: Guitar
Tom Brundage: Harmonica
Stuart Moir: Violin & 8 string bass
Dani Rock: Double bass
Loris Peverani: Drums and percussion
Morgan Platt: Drums and percussion

Producer: Tony Perretta

Paint No Fiction – Jack J. Hutchinson

EIGHTpawprint half inchdoodle paws out of TEN …

Track Listing

  1. Deal With The Devil
  2. Written In Stone
  3. Hip Slickin’
  4. Hold Me Close
  5. Cut The Noose
  6. Set Your Heart For The Sun
  7. Rattlesnake Woman
  8. Skin and Bone
  9. I Got Your Number
  10. Send Me A Signal
  11. Hard Right In My Dreams

CD Review: Jack Hutchinson ~ Band Get It Back

jack hJack Hutchinson Band
Get It Back

No wonder Jack Hutchinson has been included on Blues Magazine’s list of ‘Ones To Watch in 2015’ , on the EP; Jack and the band have a scorching sound that is full of depth, rawness and electric blues. Jack has the all too rare combination of the ability to kick ass with the guitar and have vocals that are powerful and work in harmony with the sound being produced.
The E.P. has six self-penned tracks that are a real tasty introduction to the talents of Jack Hutchinson, his guitar work is full of licks and lead breaks that are long enough to beguile at times leaving you wanting more, but never so long that the guitar becomes tiresome. There are no tracks going spare to fill out the space of a full CD, we have the opportunity to listen to the real Jack how he wants to perform and showcase the band.

The opener Wake Up is a track that once the first note is played makes you sit up listen and take notice with the click of the drum sticks and then into full throttle guitar you are ready to rock long before Jack’s voice joins in and as he sings ‘wake up and smell the roses…’ you know this is an E.P. that means business. This is not a one tempo – one style album as the textures, tones and emphasis change but always the musicianship is the focus of your attention as they are determined to rock your soul. Loving Man is more measured with some great bass from Rick Brazendale, then Jack’s voice full of measured bluesy tones that hits all the right emotions and notes on this slower track, less rocky and shows the purity of the guitar playing. Get It Back is a rocky fast-moving track that gets the adrenalin pumping and sets you in a spin. Too soon the last and longest track is playing Hey Hey Hey; opening with the sounds of the sea on a beach and some gentle acoustic guitar contrasting with the other tracks. This is a different side of talented Jack Hutchinson; a talent to definitely watch out for in 2015, buy the CD and catch him live he will definitely entertain.

Bluesdoodles gives this CD SEVEN doodle paws out of TEN ….pawprint half inch

Track Listing

Wake Up
Look In The Mirror
Loving Man
Never Too Late
Get It Back
Hey Hey Hey

Jack Hutchinson: Guitar and Vocals
Rick Brazendale: Bass
Jim Brazendale: Drums
Tom Brundage: Harmonica.