Explore A Small World Enlarged Beautifully by Dan Burnett

Explore A Small World Enlarged Beautifully by Dan BurnettSometimes an E.P. disappoints, not just because it leaves you wanting more but as often with a collection of Short Stories the artist has not used the six tracks to truly promote the nuances that make an artist demand attention. This is not the case on Dan Burnett’s Small World E.P. Yes, you are left wanting more. But he opens the door into his world of musical tones and shapes on Small World a collection of five originals and the bonus track a stylish cover of the oft-covered Bob Dylan’s All Along The Watchtower.  Explore A Small World Enlarged by Dan Burnett, on an E.P. that connects to you personally up close with intimate insights into Burnett’s music.

Opening with the title track, Small World is a light ditty with strong piano with hints of New Orleans as we are in Pittsburg with Dan as he realizes how small and connected we are in a world where contact with each other is easy.  The harmonica moans as we eavesdrop on a drunken conversation in the early hours at a hotel bar. The power is in our hands to change relationships and feelings to communicate.  The Piano from Dan is superb promising more of what is to come. The mood changes with Battle Scars, Dan refers to this as his ‘mental health anthem’. Taking us behind visible scars with a simple number sung with passion and empathy and deep understanding as the organ takes up the melodic tones. The next two tracks explore relationships as the deepness of keys are added with another set of strong lyrically driven songs. The last of the originals Reason For Living, written for Dan’s son Alfie and life-affirming about the changing power of his son in his life. The piano is strong with a driving beat and leaves you understanding Dan and yourself a bit more.

The bonus track Dan re-arranges the Dylan classic All Along The Watchtower. Stripped back with grand piano and organ intermingling creating the atmosphere that lets the lyrics pop out with intensity and poetry. Reminding us of the influence of Dylan on songwriting, Burnett has reclaimed this classic for the singer-songwriter and not just for a would-be Hendrix. The atmosphere is built and the laughter heard in response to the words adds to the intimacy of the album. For twenty-four minutes we are in a deeply personal space, the songs sung for us in the most intimate of shows that you can listen to whenever you want. These are six shining gems produced and delivered with love Get close and personal and explore a Small World enlarged beautifully by Dan Burnett.

Small World – Dan Burnett 

EIGHTpawprint half inchdoodle paws out of TEN …

Track Listing

  1. Small World
  2. Battle Scars
  3. Last First Kiss
  4. Time Has Come
  5. Reason For Living
  6. All Along The Watchtower

Explore A Small World Enlarged Beautifully by Dan Burnett

Small Town Talk with Ma Polaine’s Great Decline

Small Town Talk with Ma Polaine’s Great DeclineSmall Town Talk with
Ma Polaine’s Great Decline


Ma Polaine’s Great Decline have put together four tracks of quirky, unique, music which is grown up full of folk, roots and a colouring of the blues this duo packs a musical punch we all want to feel. Small Town Talk is a follow-up to the critically acclaimed debut album Got Me Out Of Hell.

Within the four tracks they have developed a studio based EP that has a different feel from the album as they experiment with the possibilities of a studio with sound that has layers and textures.

All four of the tracks are written by Beth Packer and Clinton Hough, who have the artistry to spin a musical tale which is as much about the unsaid, left to the imagination as the path their poetry takes you. Deep into the underbelly of small town gossip and intrigue.

The EP opens with a dark tale, full of percussive menace and the feeling of something in the shadows approaching you. Japanese Knotweed is not a missive of the invasions of exotic plant that starts in the garden and then goes on a rampage but instead of neighbours stalking. Compulsive listing with Beth Packer’s vocals adding to the intrigue.

The mood and tone changes, with Waiting For War, with guitar and the plaintive vocals of Beth as a ballad unfurls a story. Every listener will be able to interpret the lyrics depending on their own experiences, tears and fears another clever number. Leaving you with the inevitability that another war will happen sometime soon between lovers countries conflict which is part of our tapestry.

Never can you have Been Loved Too Much, the sadness and loneliness that Beth and Chris conjure through the music is the rendition of deep pain that shapes your thinking, dreams and hopes. This is pain that leaves you careless worthless and the accordion mimics with weeping qualities of the vocals.  The ballad has a live, intimate feel she is weaving her magic and singing directly at you.

Closing the quartet is Harvey, which lightens the mood with a country fair feel. The accordion and percussion has a feel of Groanbox numbers. Compelling listening as the Bank robbery leads Harvey to fail and die. Behind the lightness of tempo is a dark tale of pathos as Cajun meets country blues.

Ma Polaines Great Decline on this EP captures the roots of music and twists them with lyrics that tell a tale full of intrigue and hidden shadows.

SEVEN pawprint half inchdoodle paws out of TEN ….

Track Listing

    1. Japanese Knotweed
    2. Waiting For War
    3. Been Loved Too Much
    4. Harvey