Not Broken Mick Ralphs Set Down the Blues

It Is not Broke as Mick Ralphs Blues Band Set Down the Blues

Not Broken Mick Ralphs Set Down the Blues


Not Broken Mick Ralphs Set Down the Blues on an album that personifies British Blues.  Mick Ralphs Blues Band album If It Ain’t Broke hits the blues spot of British Rhythm and Blues with its mix of British rock, Chicago and the elixir of blues feel that Mick and the band have in buckets and is poured over every track. The album is a mix of originals and classics continuing Mick’s musical journey as he takes us back to the smoke-filled clubs of the 60’s and early ‘70’s where we first heard the blues.  Opening with I Don’t Care, we are transported onto a blues cloud of delight as Jim Maving’s guitar joins forces with the power of Mick. Adam Barron on vocals delivered with panache curling around the rhythm section of Bassist Dicky Baldwin and Damon Sawyer on drums. You know this is a band that cares for the blues, feels the blues and to play blues that get your feet tapping with delight.

The two Freddie King tracks, Same Old Blues and closing track Going are blues classics you can connect to simple and timeless, here they are crafted to reflect the British tone and approach to a genre out of the USA. Other tracks that stand out from the crowd on this well-crafted album with Talk To Your Daughter with its driving guitar and rhythms,  along with Barnes & Seals Roll The Dice that just suits the style Mick favours that of Freddie King and Steve Cropper.  Then the number Well Connected with a modern feel from Maving & Maxwell brings an edgier feel with its harder blues edge.

It is very true that across the ten tracks the attitude is It Is not Broke as Mick Ralphs Blues Band Set Down the Blues. This is crafted blues, distilled the essence and combining with experience of guitarist Mick Ralphs’ time with Bad Company and Mott The Hoople and every note he has played on the journey that has led to the album of blues. If It Ain’t Broke is the perfect response as the band plays blues from the heart.

EIGHT pawprint half inchdoodle paws out of TEN ….

Mick Ralphs Blues Band – If It Ain’t Broke

Track Listing

  1. I Don’t Care
  2. Shakey Ground
  3. Talk To Your Daughter
  4. Just A Little Bit
  5. Nothing’s Gonna Stop Me
  6. Same Old Blues
  7. Too Bad
  8. Roll The Dice
  9. Well Connected
  10. Going Down

Bluesdoodles wishes Mick Ralphs a speedy recovery from the Stroke he suffered earlier this month.

British Blues Awards – Finalist 2015

British Blues Awards 2015 are back on track after the untimely passing of Barry Middleton voting for the finalist opens on the 1st of August.
As in previous years, the appointed Panel have submitted their nominations and we have our finalists in each category various independent radio stations have been announcing the categories with a chance to hear the music of all the bands and artist.
How Do I vote? Easy During the month of August a voting form will be available on British Blues Awards website – HERE.
Male Vocals
Sponsored by Blues in the South
Alan Nimmo – King King, The Nimmo Brothers
Aynsley Lister
Dan Owen
Hugh Coltman – The Hoax
JoJo Burgess – LaVendore Rogue
Marcus Bonfanti – Boom Band, Ten Years After + Others

Female Vocals
Sponsored by Digital Blues
Dani Wilde
Katioe Bradley
Kyla Brox
Lorna Fothergill – Northsyde
Malaya Blue
Zoe Schwarz – Blue Commotion

Blues Band
Sponsored by Blues On The Radio & The Tuesday Night Music Club
Brothers Groove
The Boom Band
The Hoax
The Nimmo Brothers
Zoe Schwarz Blue Commotion

Half Deaf Clatch
Ian Siegal
Jon Amor and Joel Fisk
Marcus Bonfanti
Mark Harrison
Matt Woosey

Sponsored by The New Crawdaddy Blues Club
Alan Nimmo – King King, The Nimmo Brothers
Aynsley Lister
Chantel McGregor
Dudley Ross – Katie Bradley Band
Joel Fisk – LaVendore Rogue, Wolfpack plus Others
Jules Fothergill – Northsyde

Harmonica Player
Sponsored by Across the Pond
Alan Glen
Paul Lamb
Steve “West” Weston
Trevor Steger – Babajack
T J Norton
Will Wilde

Keyboard Player
Sponsored by Sarah’s Sussex Blues
Dale Storr
Dan Burnett – Dan Burnett Band
Lee Spreadbury – Rosco Levee and the Southern Slide
Paddy Milner – The Boom Band + Others
Paul Long – Riotous Brothers, Catfish
Steve Watts – Jo Harman Band + others

Bass Player
Sponsored by The Blues and Soul Show
Deano Bass – Brothers Groove
Derek White – Larry Miller Band + Others
Ian Mauricio – Northsyde
John Dawson
Lindsay Coulson – King King
Norman Watt Roy – Wilko Johnson Band + Others
Roger Inniss – Laurence Jones Band + Others

Sponsored by The Blues and Soul Show
Hayden Doyle – Northsyde
Mark Barrett – The Hoax, Blues Boy Kings
Martin Johnson, Jo Harman Band
Sam Kelly
Stephen Cutmore – LaVendore Rogue + Others
Wayne Proctor – King King

Sponsored by The Raven & Blues Radio Show
Becky Tate – Percussion – Babajack
David Migden – Trumpet
Kyla Brox – Flute
Sarah Skinner – Sax – Red Dirt Skinners
Simon Anthony Dixon – Sax – The Stumble
Yoka Qureshi-Kuiper – Flute and Sax – Little Devils

Young Artist
Sponsored by Pablo and the Blues Show
Alex Butler – Red Butler
Alex McKown
Dan Owen
Laurence Jones
Lewis Hamilton
Lucy Zirins

Blues Festival
Sponsored by Blues and Roots Radio
Blues on the Farm
Broadstairs Blues Bash
Ealing Blues Festival
Great British Rhythm and Blues Festival Colne
Scarborough Top Secret Blues Festival
Upton Blues Festival

Overseas Artist
Sponsored by Sunday Morning Soul
Buddy Whittington
Kenny Wayne Shepherd
Kirk Fletcher
Mud Morganfield
Thorbjorn Risager
The Billy Walton Band
Walter Trout

Independent Blues Broadcaster
Sponsored by TBC
Ashwyn Smyth – Digital Blues
Dave Raven – Raven And The Blues
Gary Grainger – The Blues Show
Jason Elliot – The Blues and Soul Show
Kevin Beale – Blues On The Marsh
Tim Aves – The Blues Is Back

Blues Album
Sponsored by Sedgefield Rock & Blues Club
Bourbon Street – Malaya Blue
Going Back Home – Wilko Johnson and Roger Daltrey
Man and Guitar – Ian Siegal
Recession Blues – The Hoax
Temperature Rising – Danny Bryant
The Blues Continuum – Half Deaf Clatch

Blues Song
Sponsored by GMH Promotions
Bitter Moon – Malaya Blue
Deathly Blue – Half Deaf Clatch
Face to Face Trevor Sewell
Long Way To Heaven / Wily Bo Walker & Karena K
Mud Honey – Joanne Shaw Taylor
Second Hand Tattoo – David Migden

Kevin Thorpe Songwriter Award
Sponsored by Worthing Pier
Half Deaf Clatch
Katie Bradley and Dudley Ross
Mark Harrison
Matt Woosey
Richard Townend
Trevor Sewell

Barry Middleton Award For Emerging Artist
Sponsored by Blues in Britain Magazine
Jack J Hutchinson
Kaz Hawkins
Malaya Blue
Ma Polaine’s Great Decline
Red Butler